Fairly new PC slowing down.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by JamesEM, Mar 29, 2012.

1. JamesEM

JamesEM

Hi guys/gals, :)

18 month old PC with decent spec (for what I'm doing...one market, no tick charts, 3-9 charts open at a time etc) seems to be grinding to a halt. Ridiculous delay in opening applications and general response time.

I've tried going to a technician and he cleaned the machine for me, re-installed everything and that improved things for several months but now it's worse than ever!

I have limited knowledge where computers are concerned and I'm just wondering what the best route is to take. Not interested in just buying a new PC just yet but would rather learn some best practice to get the most out of what I've got.

Any advice??

PS CPU fan recently became stuck on 100% (ie noisey!) which I'm now manually controlling using SpeedFan.

2. Windows OS?

I think the first think you need to find out is where did all the CPU cycles go. Which means: what application, which process, then it may give you some clue.

If Windows: On the task bar, right click and "Start Task Manager".

Under Task Manager:
    Tab "Performance", what is the overall CPU Usage. Is it constantly at high (e.g. over 30%)? If it is idling, it would be under 5%.
    Tab "Processes", sort it under "CPU". The top line should be the one taking most of the CPU cycles. What is the name of that process (and the top 3). That would give you a clue on why the computer is so busy.

3. Eight

Eight

Make sure that security scans and backups and such are scheduled for hours when you aren't using the computer...

4. In addition to other replies if an hdd and not an ssd it is always good to defrag when not using the computer.

5. JamesEM

JamesEM

Thanks for the reply Bolimomo :)

Yes, Windows XP home edition.

I've tried to look at CPU usage- it's very low..0-2%. It'll jump briefly to as high as 30% ish when clicking around, opening documents and such.

Under processes these are the top three: