Good equity index futures strategy for recent volatile market?

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by alanm, May 24, 2006.

1. alanm

alanm

I'm basically a micro-term stock trader, and make a living at it. I've done a little bit of directional futures trading when I felt strongly about fundamentals (like short silver), or as a hedge, but I know I don't have an edge.

It seems that recently, the daily range of the SPX is greatly expanded, with nice long multi-point moves, and might provide a good opportunity for me to learn some directional trading, using the ES futures.

Any suggestions on a strategy that I might use effectively in this type of market? I understand fully that it may cease to work if volatility decreases, but I thought I might be able to get my feet wet while it lasts.

2. tough to find a consistent egde on futs...i know i havent got it...that's why i trade 'em when i feel somewhat confident they are trendin' and buy retracements..if u have balls u can take care of tops/bottoms or buy/sell when price moves at the extremes of da ladder...u can also buy those thick red candles; more often that not they leave a shadow behind and that's where u get u profits, but u got to get rid of u trade quick or use brackets. sometimes price action is very tellin' but very fast and i think it is worth it jumpin' in with substantial size 50-100lots; of course am not even close to move that size yet. still if u mix it up like this all day long and be confident and at ease with pullin' the trigger am sure it cud work out.

3. Surdo

Surdo

I am not a scalper, my system which is a combination of nuts and bolts and grommets is more of a longer term/scalp when ripe machine!

I must say, trading the NQ was like shooting fish in a barrel today!

4. You need a method, teaching and support:
    http://www.tactrade.com/index.html

If you want to know how to trade price action, this guy is who you are looking for,
    RTS