Group health insurance for independent traders?

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by wartrace, Mar 26, 2017.

1. wartrace

wartrace

I am wondering if anyone knows of a group traders can join in order to qualify for group health insurance rates? I had to sign up with an ACA plan this year because all the health insurance companies in my area pulled out of the individual policy market. I literally can not buy a policy from a major health insurer where I live. This resulted in a substantial increase in premium.

I am looking for some sort of group I can join in order to qualify for a group plan. Any ideas?

2. If you're a professional in some field there's usually a professional society you can join to get group rates on all sorts of insurance.
    e.g. I'm an electrical engineer and I've belonged to IEEE for years. I have cheap life insurance through them and I know they have health insurance options as well. I looked into their health insurance when I was looking into becoming an independent contractor. Family coverage health is really expensive, I should warn you. It's like $1000/month.

3. wartrace

wartrace

Unfortunately I am not currently a member of any professional society. I am currently paying close to 800/mo with a 5k deductible for an ACA plan (single). Seems like if it is 1000 for a family plan it would be cheaper for a single in some group plan.

4. Actually that $1000/month figure is from about 6 years ago, but you're right that singles pay the lowest premiums.

5. You might check into NFIB. They used to sponsor a health insurance plan.

6. Sig

Sig