How do I accurately choose the period for indicators?

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by newbie003, Oct 6, 2019.

1. newbie003

newbie003

Hi guys! I'm new to trading, been educating myself on indicators, chart patterns, etc,. They always teach you how to use them, their history, etc,. but they never seem to tell you how to choose the period for an indicator, for example: Stochastic Oscillator has the period K and period D set to 13 and 3 by default (default settings for the trading platform that I use) Why is that? Why is it 13 and 3? Does changing the period make any effect on the accuracy of the indicator? Does it depend on the time period of the chart? If the time period of the chart is in minutes, does that mean 13 period is 13 minutes and 3 period is 3 minutes? Also another thing that I've noticed is that some traders can predict the exact time the market is going to be bearish or bullish in the future, for example: at X time in the future, the market will be bullish. How do they do that? Is there an indicator for that or is it just an experience related thing? I've tried looking all this stuff up on YouTube and Google but nothing's been helpful so far. Could you guys please help me?

murray t turtle and tommcginnis like this.
  2. Overnight

Overnight

Really? Would love to meet them, and give them half my profits I would make off their "exact times" they expect the market to move in a certain direction.

Basically, you are looking at indicators with default settings. The parameters can be changed by you, so your indicators make sense to YOU.

killer007, bone, Scataphagos and 3 others like this.
  3. tommcginnis

tommcginnis

It's a tar-baby artifact of history; nothing more. It's what the indicator was popularized with, and nobody has had the intestinal fortitude to change it -- either they don't use it themselves, or they're pussies.

It absolutely, 100% does. Play with it yourself and see.