How to utilize Portfolio with multiple systems to improve performance and limit risk

Discussion in 'Risk Management' started by lmseldin, Nov 11, 2022.

1. lmseldin

lmseldin

I am new to Portfolio analysis.

I have 1 system with 8 assets and 2nd system with 5 assets.

What can I do to help analyze the results?

Individually, both these systems do well. Just looking for insights into what I can do to help with analysis.

For position size, I use percent of equity of 100 / # of assets traded in the system, with a little less to eliminate NFS.

Is there a way to combine analysis to show an equity curve combined for both systems? Along with a combined metrics report (probably has to look different because of 2 different systems and different assets traded. Maybe there is an excel to help with this?

Your thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks,
    Larry

SimpleMeLike likes this.
  2. Hello Larry,

Why not keep things simple, and bet on 1 or 2 trading systems and scale up size for the rest of your life?

I think a portfolio of systems is too much work for little reward for the retail at home alone trader/investor. Then you have to spend all your life managing about +20 systems

Find 1 or 2 trading systems you believe in stick with is what I am doing to scale.

Last edited: Nov 11, 2022
  3. hilmy83

hilmy83

Check out
    https://strategyquant.com/quantanalyzer/

You can segregate strategies and get stats by specific markets

4. Alternately, you could use Multicharts Portfolio Manager feature and send the trade stats to a CSV file:
    Portfolio_NetProfit
    Portfolio_NumLossTrades
    Portfolio_NumWinTrades
    Portfolio_TotalTrades
    Vars:
    TotalTrades(0)
    ;
    TotalTrades = Portfolio_TotalTrades;
    If TotalTrades > TotalTrades[1] then // new trade
    Print(file("C:\port\portfolio.csv"),"Trade num:",TotalTrades," Net=",Portfolio_NetProfit);

5. lmseldin

lmseldin

simplelikeme wrote: