I can't program...what platform should I use.

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by Moptop, Feb 15, 2021.

1. Moptop

Moptop

I am trying to get into algo trading. I'm mainly focusing on ETF's at this point. I've started by using Trade Navigator since its language seems relatively easy to learn. I'm concerned though because it seems like it may have some limitations with fully automated trading like position sizing.

What would be a good platform for me to use. I'm willing to learn some coding. It seems like Amibroker maybe a good option? It also seems like things are trending toward Python, are there any good platforms that use Python?

Sorry I'm a newb, thanks.

2. Back up a step and learn "Price Technical Analysis". Then, you can use any platform you want. The "platform" will not make or break you.

Last edited: Feb 15, 2021
  3. fan27

fan27

Take a look at https://www.buildalpha.com/. I have not used it but it seems popular among those who do not know how to code and want to give algo trading a try.

Moptop, virtusa and easymon1 like this.
  4. Most complete strategy language for non programmers is still Easylanguage with good brokerage plateform behind it , is Tradestation. There is nothing better in the market for this combo and if your strategy is not too complicate.

There are many free softwares, but Tradestation is free only if you use plateform to trade 10,000 shares a month, else you pay $265. Or you can pay $5 per side then plateform is free even you trade once a month or buy 1 share .

Last edited: Feb 15, 2021
  5. Moptop

Moptop

Okay thanks, Tradesation was the other one I was considering along with Amibroker. I'm just not sure how to decide.

6. Moptop

Moptop

I'm learning that side of things everyday, but I need something to execute. I don't think it unreasonable to ask for recommendations...its better than having a monkey throw darts right?

7. El Trado

El Trado