impossible to make monthly income..with options spreads without BIG money!

Discussion in 'Options' started by increasenow, Sep 17, 2009.

1. impossible to make monthly income..with options spreads without BIG money!..how does the little guy make money, real money trading bull or bear spreads or much less naked short puts or calls?...you need HUGE cash to do this to make any real money...HUGE cash...thoughts...

2. erol

erol

i'm still a newbie...

but forcing monthly income on a stock for me would be a losing strategy.

when i think i've found a good trade, i put my money in

bull spreads can take time....

i had to wait ~2 months to make my trade successful.

bear spreads I have to feel comfortable and think that the underlying will stay or go up.... that can happen anytime.

my thoughts... monthly income would force losing trades. IMO (for me).

3. wartrace

wartrace

It all depends on what "real money" means to you. I can live on 1200 a month (I own my own home & don't do consumer debt :) )

Some say 4 to 6% per month is achievable given enough experience. An account of 100k could throw off a comfortable amount.

4. spindr0

spindr0

How does the little guy make real money trading?
    He becomes a big guy! :)

If I'm capable of a 10% return on my money, to make a $1,000, I need $10,000. But if I want to make $10,000 at that return rate, I need $100,000. That's life. You need more to make more.

5. Big money is relative. In percentage terms, what do you consider big money?

I'm new to options having only been at it since may or so. I've been generating income trading options with an average trade of 2.57% and an average holding period of 14 days (selling premiums not spreads). To me that's pretty big money if it can be done consistently month over month. 2.57% compounded for 12 months is about 35%. '

- Ray

6. The days of easy and painless selling of risk premium (whichever way you look at it, options just being a specific example) are over.