Installing Win 7 64 over XP 32 and keeping progs and settings

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by mokwit, Dec 2, 2010.

1. mokwit

mokwit

Did anyone ever come out with a method or program that allows you to upgrade from XP 32 to Win 7 64 bit and keep all your installed programs and their settings as functional?

Vague memories of some program that allowed you to do something like this (maybe with the use of another HDD)

Was I dreaming?

I don't expect anyone has come up with a way to upgrade like it was installing an XP upgrade over XP, but was wondering if anyone found a way to avoids tediously reinstalling 8 years worth of programs and associated settings

2. Yes, dreaming.

Almost always better to do a fresh OS install that to "write over and upgrade" existing OS.

If I were you, I woudn't bother to try to put all of your stuff on a W7-64bit rig. I've been putzing around with W7 on one of mine for a few months, and I don't find it any faster or easier to use... in fact, I find is slower and annoying. If there are obvious reasons to use W7, I haven't found them. Oh sure, a little thingy or two here and there... but in general, not.... and CERTAINLY NOT enough to motivate me to switch everything over to W7.

W7 is not faster on the internet, doesn't launch apps any more quickly, is slower on shutdown.... it might boot bit faster, but I don't have my usual compliment of peripherals or software utilities on the W7 rig. If I did, might be slower on startup.

3. If you turn off themes and adjust the performance to "Best Performance" vs. "Best Appearance" or "let windows do what it wants" then you will find that W7 is the same as XP or can be even faster. (in my opinion of course)