Malware warning

Discussion in 'Networking and Security' started by Bugsy, Sep 1, 2020.

1. Bugsy

Bugsy

Just a word of warning. I caught some nasty malware last week. It was so bad it made internet access, via any browser, impossible. Couldn't system restore or factory restore. I'm not technically savvy enough to figure out how to wipe the OS and reinstall via USB. I took it to a computer repair shop, first time ever needing to do that, and they said that while they had cleared the malware they still suggested wiping and reinstalling a new OS to ensure no malware was hidden in the files, which I did. This was only the beginning of my troubles. My computer is only a couple of months old.

The next day I ended up getting notifications of suspicious activity across my accounts across the web like Amazon, Ebay, Gmail, etc. I had to go through changing everything up. They got onto an old Robinhood account I created when they first began, and abandoned after a trade or 2 only to forget about it. They deposited $700 from my bank account. Before this I had seen an email they had deleted in my gmail trash trying to link a bank account to Robinhood in my name. I forgot I even had an account so I assumed they were trying to create a new account. I replied to the email telling Robinhood it had been a malware attack and the person whom had initiated that bank linking was not me.