Market Profile trade scenarios

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by TraderD, Oct 18, 2007.

1. TraderD

TraderD

I am new to MP. There appears to be a contradiction which I would like to talk about. I think it could bring up interesting discussion.

Here are 2 standard MP axioms:

1) If price opens above previous days VA, and drives down to previous days VA, one should buy at UVA and then at POC.

2) If price opens above previous days VA, and drives down to previous days UVA/VA and then gets accepted in VA, then price is likely to drive down through the whole VA.

Knowing odds implied by case #2, why would it make sense in scenario #1 to try to enter at POC after entry at UVA failed? I know that one can trade that way, but would not it be a lower probability entry vs entry at UVA?

Now, suppose the price drove down as described in scenario #2. Is buying at LVA level as good of a trade as buying earlier at UVA?

2. ?..............The market opening above yesterday's value area and then going lower towards that value area is called "responsive selling". The buying that's absorbing the selling is called "initiating buying". Initiating activity is deemed to be stronger than responsive activity. Initiating activity happens more swiftly because it's with the trend. Responsive activity happens more sluggishly because it's contra-trend. In your example, you have to make an assumption that the point-of-control and the top & bottom of the value area will be "support" the first time they are touched. Any selling up to that point will be of a responsive nature met by initiating buying. When the lower-level of the value area is breached, at the point, selling becomes of an initiating nature and buying is only of a responsive nature. Then, you're looking for big range-extension to the downside. I hope some of that helps.

3. A lot of guys don't even know what market profile/MP is. Here is a video Alex did. Brief explanation of Market Profile: