Question about Taxes and MTM

Discussion in 'Taxes and Accounting' started by sfbayarea, Oct 16, 2020.

1. Hi All,

I'm an active day trader. Before this year, I day traded all the time on my only trading account. I held no positions going into this year. However this year, there is a stock that I wanted to keep long term. I have over time accumulated a 10k share position on the stock in my trading account. But along the way, I have also day traded the same symbol when I saw fit (bullish only). My account is set for MTM method of accounting as I gave the IRS a notice over a year ago. Will I have to pay taxes on those unrealized gains at the end of the year even if I don't sell those 10 k shares if the prices are higher at the end of the year? Someone at my brokerage told me I would have to under MTM accounting. I would prefer to hold those 10 k shares for over 3-4 year period to pay only 15% on long term capital gains taxes. I am looking to hold this stock because I believe it would jump by a large fold long term.

As anyone held a stock symbol long term while also day trading the same stock on an account? What is the best way to hold this stock long term to pay minimal taxes? I don't mind taxes personally but it's the housing that is too expensive to buy (that's my grudge). Home prices are too high in CA and don't seem to come down. Trying to save up to buy a house.

Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks

2. BMK

BMK

Here's what it says on page 68 of IRS Publication 550: