Starting out NOW

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by JoeAnonymous, May 19, 2016.

1. Background:
    I am an IT engineer, from Holland. I live in Asia and I have a full time job.

I "played" some stock before won big with the banking crises (buying banks when they were at their low) and lost even bigger buying uranium mining companies after the Japan nuclear mishap. Down 30K USD to 7.5K (still have it). That is a while ago.

I don't know quite how this got started, but I found this online website where you could analyse charts (with MACD, SMA, EMA) and kind of "play" some stocks historically. If you were "reading" the charts right you could consistently win, maybe, and bring up your capital. I don't remember the website, but it's not relevant to the story. Basically I spend (used to spent) a lot of time at work being bored.

That got me started on creating my own stock charts. I researched what software I could use for that, such as Excel or other tools. I tried various Java / JavaScript / other types of tools. I ended up with R. I think a module called quantmod. Well I worked on creating graphs and trying to see how to enter winning trades for a while. Then at some point I found something called quantstrat which is a module for R where they let you model quantitative strategies.

Basically R with quantstrat lets you download historical data for stocks or what not from Yahoo or Google and use whatever strategy you have programmed to invest this over the years.

Well that is kind of where I am at now, except that I think I found a strategy that is not too bad. I tried strategies where I would buy / sell stock very short term initially. That did not work out too well. I tried various indicators and variations of indicators and combinations thereof such as MACD, EMA, SMA, RSI, ATR, etc.. Then I switched to long term. I did find one long term strategy that was not too bad, but nothing impressive.