Very disappointed with Sterling Trader Pro's delays, looking for alternatives

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by kmgilroy89, Nov 9, 2018.

1. So...I've been using Sterling Trader Pro for 2 years at my prop firm. For some reason the software cannot handle large amounts of volume. It causes delayed quotes on the Level 2. I've had delays for 30 seconds at times at the end of the day. As somebody who does a lot of scalping this is unacceptable. It seems to be getting worse. I'm on the hunt for alternatives to present to my firm.

Alpha Trader and ElectricSavant like this.
  2. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

Try changing to classic mode. Some users that use a lot of resources with lots of charts end up with the software slowing down. Classic mode looks like an older version but uses less resources.

Happy to talk about customer accounts if you leave prop.

3. Sterling’s support are useless. I had given multiple examples and send them my log numerous times and yet all I hear is change to classic mode. This is the first thing I did years ago and yet there is no improvement. As soon as an alternative comes to market I will ditch them. They should be paying us for using their broken platform.

2ripchic4 likes this.
  4. FSU

FSU

5. qlai

qlai

Unless you run two platforms side by side, it's hard to know for sure who's at fault. I suggest you run two side by side and record on video. Make sure it's apples to apples. Just open level2 window and no charts. Then add a single intra-day chart to each. The more GUI windows you have opened, the worse the performance. I use ToS for charting, but now have to run IB's 1min chart and level2 as it seems to not freeze up(speed looks same by eye). Sucks.

I've been thinking of building my own *basic* intra-day chart (plus l2 and TnS) powered by direct feed tick-by-tick data, but level2 costs would be too much. If your prop pays for direct leve2 data already(doubtful), that could be an option.