Zero spread on ECNs???

Discussion in 'Forex Brokers' started by yigal, Sep 25, 2007.

1. yigal

yigal

Hi everyone,

Does anyone know why they sometimes have a zero spread on Currenex and other ECNs, say 1.4150 bid and 1.4150 ask that dont match. As far as I understand any matching orders supposed to be filled as in the case above 1.4150 bid is supposed to match 1.4150 ask and both orders should have been filled.

Regards

2. henry76

henry76

I'm no expert , but do institions actually take positions from other institions or simply compete to offer best price to private /(retail)traders , i suspect the latter, atleast most of the time atleast , in which case private and institional quotes are treated very slightly differently , otherwise they would match , probably quite a lot ,causing probably unwanted trades for the insitions, they probably try to avoid trying to get involved in actually predicting the market ( which would be nescessery for atleast one side of 2 institions matching and tradingat zero spread price), they are interested in taking thier 1 pip profit spread, in practice from private clients,just my thoughts , as i say ,no expert .

3. Credit Arbitrage.

Client X has credit to trade with client Z

Client y has credit to trade with client Z, but not x

You (client Z) can trade with both x and y.

Client x enters a 1.4150 bid
    Client y enters a 1.4150 offer.

The 1.4150's wont match x against y, but you, client z, can see and trade against both.

4. I think your hypothesis is pretty close to the mark.