1,000,000 backtest simulations in 20 seconds with vectorbt

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by chromosome, Apr 29, 2023.

1. vectorbt is a package that combines backtesting and data science.

It takes a “vectorized” approach to backtesting using pandas and NumPy.

This means that instead of looping through every day of data, it operates on all the data at once.

This allows for testing millions of strategies in a few seconds.

I did a deep dive in how to use it here:

https://pyquantnews.com/1000000-backtest-simulations-20-seconds-vectorbt/

2. SunTrader

SunTrader

Tick data only (trade by trade), otherwise it will fail no matter what software is used or how fast it is.

rb7 likes this.
  3. M.W.

M.W.

Only works for non-pathdependent strategies. And this is nothing new. Pandas and numpy could do vectorized computations for ages, Pandas 2.0 is now even faster and more versatile. No extra package needed.

Ivano likes this.
  4. Hello chromosome,

Did you find a trading strategy with edge?

If so, please show me here.

Thank you

5. d08

d08

I'm writing my own thing that is not dissimilar. But I'm using Qt and a desktop interface, writing python code for the backtesting engine is still possible but visualizations are fixed. Some would call it a dated approach.

Pandas (including 2.0 with the Arrow backend) is very slow, memory hungry and only works for in-memory calculations, at least from what I can see for VectorBT it doesn't support lazy evaluation. For my case, I'm switching to Polars as it's about a magnitude faster and more versatile.

EDIT: Apparently Dask and Ray are supported, which is good but still slower than Polars or DuckDB.

Last edited: Apr 29, 2023
    MACD and M.W. like this.