4% one try, or 1% and 4 tries?

Discussion in 'Risk Management' started by BennTrades, Oct 24, 2020.

1. I'm a swing trader, mostly trading breakouts.

I've been tinkering with a different money management system.

Risking 1% of the account, I would normally set a 4% stop loss. E.g entry $19, 4% stop loss at $18.24. With a $100,000 account this would give a position size of 1316 shares.

The alternative is to risk 0.25% of the account, setting a stop loss at 1%. Entry $19, 1% stop loss at $18.81. This would give a position size of 1316 shares.

The advantage of the 0.25% position size is you get '4 tries' for the breakout to work. The downside is you are more likely to get stopped out.

Would be interested to hear some different opinions about the 1% stop approach.

murray t turtle likes this.
  2. DevBru

DevBru

Your stop shouldn't change if you want to take less risk, you need to place your stop at a level you are convinced of that is safe and adjust the positioning size accordingly.

For example if you have a $100k account and you want to risk $1000 or 1% per trade and the stop is $0.5 away you buy 2000 shares, if the stop is $1 you buy 1000 shares, ...

In my experience a stop cant be a fixed % or price since it is different for each position you take.

Trader200K, Grantx and KCalhoun like this.
  3. KCalhoun

KCalhoun

Exactly right. Plus, stops should be set based on specific technical signals first, then sized accordingly.

Real upcoming Example: I want to buy a breakout in SCO if it gets over $18. I will use 17, prior day's high as stop. I am willing to risk $200.. so I will buy 200 shares.

Great topic

Last edited: Oct 24, 2020
    murray t turtle, comagnum and Grantx like this.
  4. If your a swing trader u can use itm options i think they r better can you u can Still capture the upside and the stop is embedded in it so u can avoid 100% whipsaw

5. Turveyd

Turveyd