anybody know how to write a feed handler?

Discussion in 'App Development' started by fareastcoast, Jul 18, 2013.

1. This is actually a quite serious question. I've been doing algo trading with a couple partners for a few years now and we have done quite well. Now we are looking to move to the next level by connecting directly to the exchange feeds for even lower latency.

A commercial feed handler costs something like $25,000 minimum. I'm hesitant to spend the money because I probably will want to be able to customize all aspects of the feed handler. So, I prefer to roll my own. It shouldn't be TOO difficult since I'm only going to connect to CTS/CQS/UTP.

The problem I'm having is that to get access to the exchange multicasts, I have to first get the networking set up, colo a server, and pay the exchange fees. In total, this works out to about $6k/month.

I won't be doing this full time, so I suspect it'll take me 3-4 months before I have a feed handler ready for production use. Is there a way to simulate the exchange multi-cast and work on building the feed handler in a development environment without having to be colocated?

2. Eyez

Eyez

Get a TT XTRADER demo and say you want to test algo trading with their FIX handler. This will usually last 2 weeks unless your in good with an account rep / or go to your clearing house and they may give you a TT SIM for $100/mo for testing purposes

This way when your application puts up bids/asks you will see it in the XTRADER platform and can troubleshoot that way.

"So, I prefer to roll my own. It shouldn't be TOO difficult since I'm only going to connect to CTS/CQS/UTP."

This is insulting. If it's so easy why don't you do it? $25,000 for ULLDMA data handler is the norm.