Becoming legit IRS registered trader. Questions if you can help.

Discussion in 'Taxes and Accounting' started by MojoRisin909, Mar 26, 2022.

1. I have been trading for two years and have moved into it full time due to increased success. I've thrown myself completely into it now I've quite my job and I trade many times a day every trading day. This is how I'm going to make my living no doubts, ifs, ands or buts about it. I need straight answers on who has legit IRS trader status and what it entailed to get it.
    Thanks
    M

2. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

I'm not sure what you mean by "legit" IRS trader status. I assume you mean TTS and mark to market treatment. I suggest you check out this website. https://greentradertax.com/

Lightspeed Financial Services Group LLC. is not affiliated with this service providers. Data, information, and material (“content”) is provided for informational purposes only. This content neither is, nor should be construed as an offer, solicitation, or recommendation to buy or sell any securities. Any investment decisions made by the user through the use of such content is solely based on the user’s independent analysis taking into consideration your financial circumstances, investment objectives, and risk tolerance. Lightspeed Financial Services Group LLC does not endorse, offer nor recommend any of the services provided and any service used to execute any trading strategies are solely based on the independent analysis of the user.

Last edited: Mar 26, 2022
  3. smallfil

smallfil

Consult an accountant with lots of experience in getting trader status. Read that it was way harder than you think to qualify as a trader status with the IRS. This is where you will have to spend monies to get professional help.