Can you beat the market?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Abubble, Oct 22, 2020.

1. Abubble

Abubble

Hi everyone, this is my first post here.
    This is a question I've been asking myself for a long time now. I know that theoretically it should be possible to beat the market, but why hedge funds don't make it? Can an average person beat the market with trading? I've seen some videos of Ben Felix who says that beating the market consistenly for years is nearly impossible and not even Warren Buffet has beaten the market in the last years. The thing is, hedge funds have everything available: smart people educated in the subject, supercomputer etc, but they still fail. I don't want to discourage everyone, I'm just a newbie.

.sigma and ElectricSavant like this.
  2. danielc1

danielc1

Welcome, to the forum. You can beat the market.

persistence, dennis86, Nobert and 2 others like this.
  3. Abubble

Abubble

Thanks man. Can you back up your statement and contradict mine?

4. CALLumbus

CALLumbus

Hi Abubble, welcome !

Hedge funds and retail traders are something completly different. Both have their advantages and disadvantages. A retail trader cannot manipulate and control a market like some HF have done (are still doing?). But as a small retail trader, you can be in and out of the market within seconds, with huge size relative to your account balance, which allows your account to grow at vastly different rates than the returns of your average HF.

But even if I prove to you that there are countless retail traders out there who make a good living from trading, it still wont help you alot.
    The only one who can can prove to you that YOU can beat the market are... YOU.

So here my advice: if you want to do this as a hobby, or just try this stuff and see where it takes you... better look for something else.