Crazy, stupid or valid idea?

Discussion in 'App Development' started by mcgene4xpro, Jun 11, 2013.

1. Hi,

I wake up today with an idea that to develop a trading platform on a crowd sharing basis.

I am an algo trader who still looking for the trading platform that suits my needs. I am sure there maybe others on the same situation. I am comparing between some plateforms out there but still i have to make a compromise at the end.

I am assuming that i can find a number of algo traders who can agree on mandate requirement, we share a fund to develop it using a professional freelancing service. All will get the full open source at the end.

I am also planning if i commit to this idea to make it very transparent and fair for all.

My premature assumptions could be off , wrong or even naive but it is open for discussion once the idea shows ok.

My assumption to get a platform better (open for definition) than OpenQuant or tradelink, we need something like 100k ( purely random assuption just to demonstrate my point with numbers), and we have 50 contributors. Each pay 2000 so we can have at the end a trading platform source code worth 100k with only 2000 payment.

Openquant subscription is 300/month and TL has also commercial expensive glean.

So, do you think this idea is valid or not?

2. Getting 50 people to agree on anything in the real world is a tremendous challenge.

Getting 50 nitpicking hair-splitters on ET agreeing to fund and spec out a community trading platform is asking for tremendous amount of pain.

You might have more fun recruiting a midget to crawl up your backside with an oversized egg beater...

3. Kickstarter. Make a good pitch and see if you get enough interest.

4. Ok, let us step-wise it..

The first 4 algo traders here who are interested ( only interested) in this project, please show your interest " just interest".

Remember that all features of the project is open of discussion.

Our 5, will be the first nucleus in this project.