Discipline if you know price goes there

Discussion in 'Trading' started by David's faith, Apr 25, 2022.

1. I am new to day trading and traded trading sim a long time before going live. But i am not yet 2 weeks in and went berserker style. Today I knew ES were going to touch 4200 and instead of getting stopped out (went short) i just removed my stop. I did it again when I knew we will go to the openig of the day. Did never inflict my rules in sim trading. Luckily I was right 2 times in a row, else my (small starting out) account would be busted. Now I am sitting here almost 200% in the green. I am fearful that my success will make me repeat this behaviour. What should I do now? Go back to Sim? Do you have an excercise that might help?

Any advice is kindly welcome.

2. Overnight

Overnight

You never mentioned how successful you were following your rules in sim trading.

If you did better live by going into bezerker mode than following your rules in sim, then maybe you have a gut feel after your one day of success. Only you can answer the question, because only you are in your head.

I'll give you a hint though...

Re-read that many times over, and your path should be clear.

comagnum and David's faith like this.
  3. savoir

savoir

A few of my thoughts:

1. Sim trading is not trading. If you stop trading and go back to sim, you are going back to not trading. There may be good reasons for going back to not trading. Learning more about the market you trade and improving a non viable trading method are good reasons.

2. Let go of the money you put into your account. Consider it tuition paid for learning a new skill. If you cannot let it go, you are too poor to trade. Trading futures is not for poor people.

3a. As a beginner, you should be trading the absolute minimum. That could be 1 ES or 1 MES. Paying more tuition than necessary is irrational.