How do you optimize your edge?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by athlonmank8, Apr 12, 2020.

1. So i've got a few opportunities in options and equities where I have been able to consistently bang out some money over the past several years. However I'm always thinking there could be more if I had access to more statistical analysis or other tools i'm not even aware of. Most of my analysis and scanning is done through TOS and excel. Risk analysis is put through a Kelly calc. and I actually work backwards from Kelly.

My options were to:

1.) Share my edge with a handful of people and work together as a team (I have only a few people I could rely on but no one seems to have any motivation for the market and the people that do are too reckless).

2.) Put it on here and optimize it collectively (leaning toward this).

3.) Seek additional help via other resources and do it myself. But I'm not even sure where the best place to look is. Too many snake oil vendors.

I'm not a programmer and I have only a very basic knowledge of stats. However i'm good with excel.

Just wondering what others have done here. Would love to hear your thoughts.

systematictrader likes this.
  2. drcruz

drcruz

Sent you a PM

athlonmank8 likes this.
  3. Handle123

Handle123

2010 decided to change, my long term models seemed to cap out before 2008 crash, plus 2008 the risk was staggering, I was doing hedging but I knew I had to expand much more and of course there is very little readable material available, I don't even look any more for material.

I had hired a staff, my abilities to program after 2010 medical procedures left me unable to form readable code. So you might want to hire college students, go to community college and speak to Dean in Computer Science, they usually have a list of good student programmers.