How many of you need to learn coding to work with data ?

Discussion in 'Data Sets and Feeds' started by Spikeet, Jun 14, 2022.

1. Spikeet

Spikeet

Hi,

Curious to hear if most of you traders that work with financial data are already sufficient with programming or if it's a long process for you to start learning how to code, in addition to being a trader / analyzing the market and coming up with trading strategies ?

2. I was a programmer first but every professional trader I know who has started in the last decade (and has become consistently profitable) is learning to code in one way or another. It's absolutely necessary for the very least, to write all the little annoying scripts you need to do repetitive stuff.

d08 likes this.
  3. Good1

Good1

The whole reason I began to code, in 1998, was to be able to look at data and test some ideas. Getting ideas was expensive in those days. Even now, I don't trust anyone to give away their best ideas, or to even understand the ideas they give away, especially coming to money management.

I started with Excel formulas and soon hit the wall and felt really free to master some competency in VBA to work within arrays. I just finished a two week stretch of VBA to handle some data. It feels empowering to learn what data can tell you. I use it to also assist manual gathering of data from drawings on Traderview charts, drawings that Pinescript can't read and collate. So it's manual data entry made easier with code...until such time that I can duplicate the rules to a Pinescript.

Come time to execute, I will be relying on bits of code to monitor and automate several tasks.

When learning, Google is your friend.

Last edited: Jun 14, 2022
    nooby_mcnoob likes this.
  4. pstrusi

pstrusi