How to backtest if you do not know how to code

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Iwilldoit, Jul 2, 2016.

Is it possible to backtest without knowing how to code

1. Yes

13 vote(s)
    65.0%
  2. No

5 vote(s)
    25.0%
  3. I don't know

2 vote(s)
    10.0%
  1. Hi there,

I am currently backtesting manually using excel, I look at the setup on the chart and visually see if it will either hit my target order or stop order and then manually enter it in my excel sheet.

I have zero experience/knowledge on programming...

So my question to you guys (and gals) is how would you recommend I perform my backtesting without knowing how to code ?

Also please do the Poll

@Handle123 @Redneck
    @NoDoji @Buy1Sell2 @aquarian1
    @Gueco @pak @slugar @zbestoch @dratsum @Max E. Pad @wrbtrader
    @Switchgear67 @rmorse @NoVoodooHere @Dinosaur_Supervisor @aquarian1 @nakachalet @Bob Rose @DDR @BlazeTrader
    @wrbtrader @ZenMusic @Wallace @Marco Picos @RadarGuy

@lajax @Buy1Sell2 @Danny_Ocean @kp @amitman @theapprentice @dbphoenix

Last edited: Jul 2, 2016
    lawrence-lugar likes this.
  2. marsman

marsman

Q: "How to backtest if you do not know how to code?"
    A: Go around... or stay behind... :D

3. What does " go around..stay behind" mean? o_O

@marsman

4. K-Pia

K-Pia

No it's not doable.
    You need to code a minimum.
    Think about EasyLanguage, NinjaScript ...
    There may be ways to backtest without programing.
    But there are trade off like lack of flexibility & Co.
    You can ask a programmer to do it for you ...
    But it ain't leverage it as its best.
    Maybe one day Siri will do it.
    Or you can test manually.
    Keep records ...

5. southall

southall

Coding not so hard.
    If you were above average at Maths at school then you should be able to learn enough coding to do backtesting.
    You do not need advanced coding skills to write a backtesting program.
    Just get that bar data into memory and iterate over it.

6. ???