I Am A Self-Directed Trader About To Broker With JP Morgan's Institutional Side

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by MollieJp, Jun 26, 2022.

1. MollieJp

MollieJp

Hi everyone,

A little confused about all this. I am a self-directed retail trader and I need institutional level access for some of the trades I'd like to make, and wanted to clear through JPM Securities using the Trading Technologies platform.

I was told I am being given access through GIO (Global Investment Opportunities) and be given DMA to execute my trades directly. I believe GIO is part of the Private Bank side of the firm, so I don't know if I'm going to be given the same access as say hedge funds when they broker with JPM. Maybe the route I'm going through GIO (but self-directed, cutting out the middle man and being given DMA) still clears through JPM Securities?

Do all institutions that make trades through the IB side of the firm clear through JPM Securities? Even if so, I wonder what I'm missing out on by doing this through the Private Bank side of the firm in terms of accessibility, features, risk management, algo order routing etc.

2. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

Most FCMs offer TT. If you are a retail trader, and this will not be a $50mm account, I'm not sure what the advantage is of using a large bank with a small retail account.

Last edited: Jun 26, 2022
    VPhantom likes this.
  3. GoldDigger

GoldDigger

Why do you need institutional level access
    if you are a retail trader, and why would
    anyone grant you that?

You should probably address this concern
    to your account manager or whoever your
    point of contact is at JPM.

4. SunTrader

SunTrader

So asks the "trader" with 3 months experience. Come to think of it that is probably why you ask.

5. MollieJp

MollieJp

Thanks for your response Robert.