I really need your advice

Discussion in 'App Development' started by Giddiyup, Oct 27, 2011.

1. Giddiyup

Giddiyup

Hello everyone. Please hear me out.

I have been a day trader since 1999 I have decided to hang it up (guess I'm getting too old for this line of work) and approaching my 40s, I am a little apprehensive about a change in careers.

I have ALWAYS wanted to program, and infact in my younger years did some basic stuff with the commodore 64. Ive sometimes regretted not going into that line of work long ago , although trading has been good to me (until recently).

I am prepared to take 2 years out of my life (possibly 4)to learn programming , go to school, whatever it takes, to get into this field and have a chance at this career. I would really like to apply programming skills to get a job with some firm creating trading algos.

Do any of you have any advice you can give me, any tips you could offer?
    Would any of you take a few moments of your time to point me towards a direction I should take?

Thank you very much in advance.

2. Hello Giddiyup, welcome to ET.

That post sounds quite, how should I say, sincere. I've done the reverse of what you've done: coding since 99 and trading since not so long ago - or rather making trading systems, but I'm only in my late 20s. It's great that you know exactly what you want to do, and are realistic and prepared to spend enough time to get good at it. With so much trading experience, once you learn programming it will be somewhat easier for you to translate your own actions into computer code. Most system developers hired by companies work with experienced traders which communicate their ideas to the programmer, and in the communication a lot of things get lost. Without the communication breakdown, you on your own could maybe end up creating an automated system that will work quite well.