Is MTM required for Sched C deductions?

Discussion in 'Taxes and Accounting' started by Spearhead, Mar 30, 2017.

1. Hi,

I'm an active trader who fits all the requirements for filing with trading status, but have elected not to use the MTM election. Does this mean I won't be able to take Schedule C deductions?

I've read many conflicting opinions about this and the IRS tax topic is confusing.
    https://www.irs.gov/taxtopics/tc429.html

Specifically, it states:
    "Traders report their business expenses on Form 1040, Schedule C", without mentioning the MTM election.

It would be much clearer had it said:
    "Traders who elect to use the MTM election report their business expenses on Schedule C".

Any advice would be appreciated!
    -SH

2. sprstpd

sprstpd

I'm not a tax professional, but having trader tax status is a prerequisite for MTM election. But you are not required to elect MTM. Once you have trader tax status you can report business expenses on Schedule C. So you do not need to elect MTM in order to report business expenses on Schedule C.

3. I figured I could do something like this, but ideally I'd like to move my Schedule D capital gains into Schedule C business profit so that I can actually deduct business expenses against my trading gains. I'm not sure whether this is possible and if so, how to go about it.

4. You would have to be beyond insane to want "to move my Schedule D capital gains into Schedule C business profit"

Schedule D income is privileged income, it is not easy to get and is not subject to FICA tax.

Anyone who is self employed has Schedule C income and is required to pay FICA tax.

What are your legitimate business expenses that you are looking to do this?

If I was making $250K+ a year trading and had $10K a year in trading expenses, Schedule D would be just fine with me.

I sure as heck would not want the $250K+ on Schedule C.

5. sprstpd

sprstpd