Large Trader Registration

Discussion in 'Options' started by bigbrian000, Jul 15, 2015.

1. Hi all, i am a relatively new trader (about 12 months live trading in options). I just recently got contacted by my brokerage to register as a large trader with the SEC. Has anyone run into this and had to register? I am confused about the process of obtaining what they call a "CIK" key. Any enlightenment would be much appreciated.

2. rmorse

rmorse Sponsor

Are you trading a lot of volume in high priced equities like SPY or Google? https://www.sec.gov/divisions/marketreg/large-trader-faqs.htm

Question 1.3: How are options calculated for purposes of the identifying activity level?

Answer: As provided in Rule 13h-1(a)(7), the identifying activity level means aggregate transactions in NMS securities that are equal to or greater than:

1. During a calendar day, either two million shares or shares with a fair market value of $20 million; or
    2. During a calendar month, either twenty million shares or shares with a fair market value of $200 million.
    The Rule defines “transaction” to mean “all transactions in NMS securities, excluding the purchase or sale of such securities pursuant to exercises or assignments of option contracts,” except for certain specifically enumerated transactions.

For equity options, Rule 13h-1(c)(1)(i) provides that “the volume or fair market value of the equity securities underlying transactions in options on equity securities, purchased and sold, shall be aggregated.” For index options, Rule 13h-1(c)(1)(ii) provides that “the fair market value of transactions in options on a group or index of equity securities (or based on the value thereof), purchased and sold, shall be aggregated.”