looking for retail broker

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by prof. charles, Mar 12, 2008.

1. This may sound completely asinine to many of you, but here it goes. I'm an accomplished short term trader with 6 years experience, but I have no idea how to manage my money long term so I'm looking for a financial planner. I have no interest in using my own money to daytrade as I have a great firm that backs me completely and gives me a good payout, besides I would hate the stress of managing my own money they way I trade everyday intensely. The planning industry is overrun with losers and liars so I'm having a hrd time finding someone trustworthy, bright and creative, just a bunch of dildos trying to sell me a bunch of different mutual funds. I have a substantial amount of money but am not connected to this world in any way, I'm a bit of a hermit. Anybody have any recommendations?

2. Good luck.

As a broker previously, I can tell you that the money is in mutual funds and managed money. That's it. Or insurance which pays very well too.

You are better off just learning a little about longer term investing and buy ETF's.

You'll save yourself thousands of dollars.

3. Here is an etf to watch. FXE

4. Justaun

Justaun Guest

I am a financial advisor with a very large institution and live in NW Florida. Charles, the beautiful thing about the position you’re in is that you can more or less interview brokers and decide to do business with anyone that you feel comfortable with and trust enough to manage your assets.
    I think what separates being in the south from financial Manhattan is the fact that we are so relationship centered. I don’t want client’s assets on the first meeting, in fact I don’t even try to sell them (wow, hard to believe huh?). I want more than anything, to find out there goals and objectives for the short-term and future. And much, like your position, I don’t have to work with someone if I don’t feel like we will mesh well.