Monte Carlo question

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by peppermint_tea, Apr 4, 2024.

1. Hi,

I’ve been learning and researching about Monte Carlo simulations. Currently building my own one in spreadsheet form.

However, If my back test strategy was done using a risk of 1% per trade, will this have problems when trying to do Monte Carlo simulations?

I only wonder because In the back test, say I start with $10,000, risk 1% per trade and do 100 trades. By trade 90 say my equity is at $30,000 so I’m risking $300 per trade and I lose a few trades here and there.

Now when I come to do the simulator, it’s possible some of those $300 losses (which were towards the end of my back test) could come out at the start of the simulated runs. So I could get a simulated run with large losses early on but that wouldn’t happen in my real trading as I wouldn’t be risking that much early on.
    Hope I have explained that well.

Just wondered what is the best thing to do in this scenario? I did think I could run the back test using a fixed number of contracts or fixed dollar amount, but I don’t trade that way, and I thought it would make sense to keep it the same as my real trading systems which are a fixed percent risk per trade.

Thanks for any suggestions or ideas

murray t turtle likes this.
  2. 2rosy

2rosy

you wrote "say I start with $10,000, risk 1% per trade and do 100 trades" and question "it’s possible some of those $300 losses (which were towards the end of my back test) could come out at the start of the simulated runs"

doesn't make sense

3. In the first row you start with $10,000 so losing 1% means you lose $100, and on the second row your equity should now be $9,800, then you lose 1%, thats a -$98 loss...

4. Do you know any programming lanugages, eg python.

Just ask Chat gpt to write you a montecarlo simulator in your favourite language.

Then run it inside an online ide.

eg: