Professional programmers

Discussion in 'App Development' started by Aquarians, Apr 22, 2021.

1. How many of you are professional programmers? Still working as software developers for a regular income and doing trading only as a side project?

Or rather ... any of you still prostitute themselves?

God I hate programming (for a job).

shuraver and qlai like this.
  2. RedDuke

RedDuke

Hm, a software job now equal to prostitution in your twisted mind???? I guess, by this logic any service rendered for money is prostitution????

3. Girija

Girija

I was; I nolonger work; spending time in own trading work is more profitable for me.

4. fan27

fan27

I am a tech lead in corporate IT. Love it! It is a fun atmosphere...we basically hang out and write code all day. And the best part is a nice paycheck arrives in my bank account every two weeks which allows my trading account to grow without needing to withdraw funds for living expenses.

blueraincap, shuraver, yc47ib and 2 others like this.
  5. terr

terr

If you hate programming, you were not suited to be a programmer from the beginning... I always pity people who got into programming not because of their inclinations but because of the $.

Programming is horribly tedious/boring unless you are born to program. But if you are, it's fun.

6. Millionaire

Millionaire

Corporate programming is sometimes fun if you are lucky. But mostly it is not fun. Endless sprint meetings, agile nonsense, code reviews, dealing with other programmer's crappy code (no one knows how to encapsulate code properly these days). Dumb managers. 10 programmer teams to do the job that one or two good programmers could do by themselves etc.
    Smaller companies are actually better for coding but don't pay as well.
    Although one benefit of Agile is we don't have to write as many documents as we did in the old days.

Last edited: Apr 22, 2021
  7. terr

terr