Retail Forex: A dirty little secret?

Discussion in 'Forex Brokers' started by KaliKali, Jan 10, 2006.

1. KaliKali

KaliKali

I'm a Forex-only trader with no experience trading anything else. I've traded with FXCM briefly and primarily with Oanda. Since there is a lot of info on this board about IB, being highly recommended and having significant improvements recently, I am researching them.

Since I trade frequently, the recommendation to use ButtonTrader sounds like a great idea. I went to their website and went through part of their tutorial. Looks like it would be very helpful. One part of the tutorial mentioned something that stopped me in my tracks:

"At ButtonTrader, trades are executed according to the buy on the bid/sell on the ask principle, which IB does as well."

Well, my trades aren't executed that way at Oanda. I get the bid price when I sell and then my spread of 1.5 for eur/usd is added to that.

I've been checking IB's demo and executing some demo trades at market to see what price my entry is at. It is appearing consistently that when I enter sell at market of say 1.2065/66, my entry price is 1.2065. So my big question is this: Is that my true entry? Or is there an add'l spread of 1-2 pips tacked on that is not showing anywhere in the execution window? I realize there is a commission, but that is not really what I'm confused about. I want to know if there is an actual difference in how IB and other similar brokers execute trades on the bid/ask then retail forex brokers do. If so, my admittedly limited mathmatical reasoning skills are causing me to wonder if these brokers are effectively profiting from the spread TWICE.

I'm also curious how it works with other instruments besides forex, even currency futures.

If I'm totally off base here and doing the math all wrong, please set me straight.

KaliKali

2. Yes. What you see is what you get.

3. gwac

gwac

Oanada has a spread of 1.5 points, so lets say they