Screener real-time stock market data, using ib api and python.

Discussion in 'App Development' started by Ben3211, Nov 2, 2021.

1. Ben3211

Ben3211

Hi everyone !

I'm new in the game, struggling, stuck, and not ready to give up
    I tried promising things, but I failed, I need your advices.
    I'm using the native IB API and python.

Target :
    Make a screener real-time data and handle those data.
    For example, I would like to be able to sort column (ascending, descending), and display or not rows if the stock answer to my criteria (uncluttered the table).

Libraries:
    With Pandastable, I was able to display a screener, sort the column, but only with static data.
    Then I tried tkinter treeview, such a good tools as well, the screener was updating real-time data for each symbol. But I was not able to apply sort functions or remove the actions that did not answer to the criteria.

Questioning:
    I need your experience and your advices to solve those issues.

Is it possible to reach my target with the precedent libraries ?
    As well, I'm wondering if it's possible, but maybe harder, to go through a database ? SQLite ?
    Fetched real-time data, send them to the database, then read, treat and display data from the database to the screener ?

Thanks !
    Have a nice day
    Ben

Fx-Game likes this.
  2. thecoder

thecoder

This is not a trivial task. It takes time and resources.
    IMO such projects succeed only if in advance a good financing of everything that's necessary for the project is assured (ie. manpower, server(s), fast Internet connection(s), funds aka money, etc.).

Have you already made the calculations for necessary storage space and bandwidth? These are the very basics to start with, IMO.

Last edited: Nov 2, 2021
  3. d08

d08

IB isn't the right choice for this. You need a dedicated data provider.