.sigma's butterfly book

Discussion in 'Journals' started by .sigma, Apr 2, 2020.

1. .sigma

.sigma

I've been spraying and praying flies all over the market for the past year, messing around with all alterations and iterations of the beautiful butterfly play.

Of course the great riskarbatticusdestrieroconvexxdonpruf opened my eyes to the potentials of fly trading. I trade other strategies like verticals, jade lizards, occasionally calendars, but haven't gone beyond that. No double diagonals, no risk reversals, no back-ratios, no reverse collars. I'll eventually grasp those alterations but for now I'm focusing mostly on butterflys.

So heres the deal. At this stage in my life I've been trading options since I was 23, I started studying derivatives when I was 21-22, I am 30 now. Ive had a hiatus in between that time but I've always and always will have a passion for the markets. I remember not understanding the butterfly strategy. And by no means am I saying I understand it, but I definitely have a better grasp of the mechanics now.

Although I would love to trade more advanced one day, for now I do not determine my trades BASED off of volatility metrics.
    Yes I do look at vol metrics, and the numbers do have an effect on my positioning, but its not the determinant.

I studied market profile years back, and volume profile, Peter Steidlmayer's work. The overall foundation of market structure, auction theory, the push and pull/ebb and flow of supply and demand from all market participants from short term scalpers to long term investors. Since then I've adapted a form of this thinking into how I trade butterflies and I'll explain throughout this journal how I do this.

I'll add more colour laterz.

deltaf0rce and guru like this.
  2. gaussian

gaussian