Simple option strategy...?

Discussion in 'Options' started by let it run, Apr 6, 2006.

1. Hi guys,

I'm a futures/spot trader and I have just set up an 'investment account' to accumulate some long term stocks for the benefit of my future wealth. Basically a buy and hold account.

Anyway, in order to get the best research out of the broker I use (an Australian firm) I either have to pay a hefty fee or do one options trade every quarter.

I understand the principles of options fine, but I'm not stupid enough to think that I can go straight in and profit from an options play. I've looked at Optionetics but I see a lot of bad stuff written about them.

Has anybody got any beginner hints for picking an option trade for somebody who is a bit sidetracked by other decisions to make!

Appreciate any help.

2. I'm not sure how much of a help i can be but your are right not to PAY for option advise/service...at least until you know more about options. Educate yourself by books and free info at first. You are not a novice trader so I'm sure you will find some good and useable info from books/threads/free seminar's etc. Its important to find a strategy that works for you as well as the markets we are currently in. Something you are comfortable with. I know this is fuzzy but options are very complicated and there is no easy answer or one solution for each person.

A very simple option's trade would be a spread...either credit or debit, put or call to mirror your research/ideas about the underlying equity. ex. you are very bullish on an equity or index you can do a debt call spread. Your are bearish do a bear put spread. slightly bullish you can do a bull put credit spread. Think the equity/index will go no where for a time you can do an Iron condor/calendar. many options!!! at the very least rather than a straight put or call ... do a spread. Limit and define your risk. That is basically what options are about. Good luck! donna

3. Hybone

Hybone