Still looking for my strategy

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by smcoder, Oct 19, 2021.

1. smcoder

smcoder

I've been trading for a few years now and over time I've tried my hand at different strategies and analyzing successes and failures I realize that I could have had maybe not huge profits but most probably near 100% successful trades by simply choosing to trade only long-term leaders such as google, microsoft, adobe, accenture, to name just a few. It would probably be all that is required to just wait for corrections to enter and consider taking profit when reaching overbought territory either on the specific stock or in general in the stock market.

Below for the sp500 I count 9 corrections since the beginning of 2021, a few probably too small to consider but I hope you get my point.

upload_2021-10-19_14-58-11.png

Last edited: Oct 19, 2021
    tomorton likes this.
  2. tomorton

tomorton

Sounds like you've found your strategy.........

smcoder and Raheel Shaikh like this.
  3. smcoder

smcoder

Clearly this is a long only strategy but @tomorton would you be able to suggest what I could look into to improve my approach?

4. smallfil

smallfil

That is swing trading. Or trend following if you prefer. Both approaches can work on most stocks.

5. jnbadger

jnbadger

There's a simple algebra equation I can share. You won't make huge money, but it works in my TDA Roth with zero commissions.

smcoder likes this.
  6. smcoder

smcoder

Ok, in my head swing trading does not go much beyond a few days but I suppose it corresponds well enough and yes trend trading is what get's most near what I do

7. smcoder

smcoder

@jnbadger, thank you, I would really appreciate it. I'm still very much trying to define my strategy better by even writing it down on paper or on file :) and I'm also trying to formalize steps and tools to support decisions.