Stocks Data?

Discussion in 'Data Sets and Feeds' started by Monito, Feb 25, 2016.

1. Monito

Monito

Hi,

I need to compile a database of the following information for backtesting, I'm happy to do the legwork pulling it in and compiling it etc.

I'm just starting out with a zero budget so I'm really looking for free or cheap sources - maximum a couple of $100 :)

1) Historical Price Data

- Must include delisted symbols
    - Must be adjusted for splits and dividends
    - Must be clean enough to use

The best I have found so far is the Quandl WIKI database. Yahoo is out because it doesn't include delisted.

2) Historic Index Constituents by Date

- I want to be able to build a system that can lookup, by date, whether a symbol was in a specific index
    - Also the reverse, get a list of stocks in an index on a specific date
    - Must include delisted

3) Historic Market Cap (Plus others would be a bonus)

- I want to be able to build a system that can lookup the Market Cap for a specific symbol on a specific date.
    - Must include delisted

Can anyone point me in the right direction for any of the above?

Thanks in advance for any information you can provide!

2. Hello,
    For your first question, I can recommend www.csidata.com which offers delisted stock history adjusted for splits and dividends and is exceptionally clean. Their pricing isn't too bad either.

I don't think they have 2 and 3 right now though.

3. Metamega

Metamega

The index constituent is going to be the hardest to find. I haven't seen any reliable / retail affordable options besides using Norgate Premium Data with Amibroker. I personally don't use it and use IQFeed with amibroker but I know quite a few use Premium Data and their alpha program has a index constituent option. I don't think it's built for anything yet but Amibroker but perhaps it is, could shoot them an e-mail.