The Trade That Changed His Life..

Discussion in 'Wall St. News' started by startraitor, Jun 25, 2013.

1. pma

pma

What a great turn around story :)

2. Guy had ridiculous advantages that 99.9% of people can't dream of.

His family staked him with 50k in 1981. That's like your family handing you a quarter million today and saying, "good luck"!
    Who gets that?

Then there's this-

"Just weeks after joining the trading pits, he lost the $50,000 and another $100,000."

Who the F loses 150k in the first weeks of trading? Sounds like a degenerate gambler who went balls to the wall knowing his "trading mentor" was going to bail him out if he blew out.

I started trading with a guy who came from a wealthy family. His family gave him 25k to open an account.
    He refused to go on demo mode for a few days/weeks like everyone else starting out. He didn't even know how to use the keyboard for different order entries. He blew out in less than a week shorting the semi conductors (LSCC in particular) on a day when either KLAC or XLNX boosted guidance. He just wouldn't listen to anyone.
    Typical of a kid who had been given everything his whole life.

Anyway, imo I don't think there's much to give credit for in that story. Just another kid who had his family hand him a pile of cash (50k in 1981 was an obscene amount of money!!) and the right connections to bail him out.

3. TraDaToR

TraDaToR

Come on. Take 10 guys who lose 3 times their parents stake in their first weeks and tell me how many will manage to pay debt in 3 years trading and bar tending at night...1 or 2. The others would have changed career or worse fleed...

4. Most of this discussion is an old decrepit brew around a patio wacking about how their knees hurt but not about how ingenious the others of our age are.