Where do I make orders from with the IBKR API?

Discussion in 'Interactive Brokers' started by Tobben237, Nov 28, 2019.

1. Tobben237

Tobben237

I am new to the IBKR API and I'm trying to figure out where to put my "if-condition" that checks whether a condition is true or not, and then proceed to make a trade (or not).

I understand that there are a lot of callback-methods that is being called after the connection is established, and the "myApp.run()" is called. I think I need to put my "if-condition" in one of these callback-methods, for example in "reqMktData"(?)

Does anyone have any tips or experiences with where (what method) is a good place to execute orders continuously (if a condition is true) from?

I hope I made the question clear, and to clarify further, I know how to make and send a single order. I am wondering how to make a program wait until a certain "if-condition" is true, and then execute it.

2. traider

traider

use ib insync it's quite user friendly

nooby_mcnoob and Tobben237 like this.
  3. Tobben237

Tobben237

Thanks, I will look into that, it sounds like exactly what I'm looking for :)

4. gaussian

gaussian

You need a state system and a loop that runs forever.

In the loop you place your conditions, upon sending the order change your state to something like "ORDER_SENT" and block everything else in the loop until you get a response. After that, change the state to something like "ORDER_RECEIVED" and continue the loop.

5. 2rosy

2rosy

You probably want that logic in the callback for market data. I think it's tick () or similar

6. DaveV

DaveV

What language are you programming in?

7. zwangerz

zwangerz

I do all the decision making in tickPrice(...) and in orderStatus(...) I verifiy that there were no errors in execution