Why is my backtest overly optimistic?

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by nijshar28, Jun 20, 2020.

1. Hey guys. I have been backtesting and paper-trading my strategy for a few months now. I can't help to notice that my backtest looks more optimistic than my paper trading results.

Even before I started paper trading, I suspected that something is off about my backtest as it exhibits double digit Sharpe ratios, virtually no downside risk, and returns that are frankly unrealistic.

I tried running some tests, like introducing programming assertions that look for lookahead bias and interchanging blocks of code between my backtesting and forward testing software. Even though I flushed out some minor issues this way, unfortunately, I still cannot pinpoint the main problem.

Has someone encountered this before? I feel that any advice would be helpful at this point. Thank you.

murray t turtle likes this.
  2. If you provide some details, it is possible flaws can be identified, however without specific information, we can only speculate. 1st speculation: What product are you trading and are you using a reasonable slippage?

murray t turtle and Nobert like this.
  3. Snuskpelle

Snuskpelle

Most common bugs (as per my experience):
    • Lookahead bias (any hints about the future will generally be snapped up by machine learning algorithms to make "predictions". This can happen in very subtle ways.
    • Failure to model slippage. A huge range of algorithms will appear profitable without slippage, e.g. it can manifest as "trading" the bid-ask spread with a very simple mean reversion algo.
    • Failure to model fills (impact and latency). Market orders of size can't be filled without increasing slippage. Limit orders are much worse, and will be filled at other market participants' discretion (adverse selection). I've stopped bothering with limit orders for this reason.