Why would a beginner need a large account?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Blitzjoker, May 30, 2023.

1. Blitzjoker

Blitzjoker

I have been trading as an amateur for around 7 or 8 years, and in that time have done reasonably well some of the time, but have gradually lost money overall, probably around £2000 over that time, which from some of the stories on here, doesn't seem too bad.

I have never funded my account with more than £1000. Currently it is around £300 and has been for some time. I trade every day to learn how to do it better.

Time and again I see the advice not to trade unless you have a large account (£10000 + seems common).

Given that most traders, and presumably nearly all new traders, lose money, to have a large account when you start would seem to be very foolhardy.

While you will never make much money with a small account, there are enough online brokers out there who will let you invest for very small stakes while you learn how to trade competently.

My day job is trading secondhand books, which started on a shoestring but now makes a healthy income. I regularly spend thousands of pounds on buying books, because I know what I am doing. However, when I started out, it was daunting to spend £100 on a book, and I made many mistakes.

It seems to me to be the same with trading stocks/indices/forex or whatever. Until you know what you are doing, it is madness to trade in large amounts. If you ever get any good at it, use your profits to increase your trading size, and eventually you will have a large account to trade. Am I missing something here?

2. Sekiyo

Sekiyo

The only reason why a beginner would need a large account is to keep risk & expectations realistic.

Small accounts lead to unrealistic expectations and unbearable risk taking.

The other thing is … let’s assume the trader has an edge … he might be forced to bet more than the optimal size which makes ruin almost guaranteed.