Would this work

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by shortthelows, Aug 16, 2010.

1. Hi,

I have been trading for about 5 years now and have been completely automate for 2 and I am thinking about starting up a sub llc under one of more well known prop firms. But instead of running your traditional subs I was thinking of going a different direction.

Instead of of having any trader come in and put money up, I would hire traders. They would be paid a small salary (2k a month) and 50% of their profits or 75% of their profits (which ever is greater). But we wouldn't be focusing on manual trading, everything would be automated.

They would have access to in-house programmers, back-testing software, and other infrastructure to develop trading strategies. I would be looking to hire college grads without any trading background. Teach them the basic of the markets and electronic trading and them let them at it.

Each trader would have 1 year from their hire date to develop 1 trading strategy. Once they have developed on, their day would consist of research and monitoring their models.

The reason why I feel this is a good business model is because most new traders fail because of three things, they are under capitalized, don't have trading plan (a stick to it) and they have poor risk management. This new model would address all three of this issues.

This is the basic overview of what I would like to do. What to you guys think, is it worth the time and effort? Any suggestions and comments would be great.

2. promagma

promagma

If you could really afford to pay a base salary like that, it sounds like a good opportunity for all. To really compete you need access to high quality data & tools ... not easy to come by. When I was just starting out I would have jumped at the chance.

3. I would only have at the most 3 traders that are on salary at a time. Once a trader has took home 75% of their profits in a month for 3 months in a row then I would look to hire a new trader.