Zero Commissions At Firstrade

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by jeb9999, Aug 23, 2018.

1. trader99

trader99

so, how do they make money? Robinhood model?

2. ET180

ET180

3. Handle123

Handle123

When there is a problem, anyone answer the phone?

4. Baron

Baron ET Founder

Even though they are NOW offering commission-free trading, I wonder how long it will actually stay that way. In other words, is this a short-term hook to get people to open new accounts with the bigger strategy to re-introduce more fees later on down the line. I know they make money on margin interest and a couple of other ways, but it still baffles me how a company can afford to truly offer free trading on an ongoing basis and still be able to net a profit somehow. But I'm not an expert in the brokerage business so perhaps there's still a bunch of ways to make money from account holders that I'm not aware of.

gkishot and JSOP like this.
  5. Ditto.

If the broker is not making money from commissions, he has to make it somewhere else to stay in business. Best know what that is if you're a customer or potential one.

Typical/possible income resouces for the broker... commish, fees, spread, "float" on your money, selling your personal data to advertisers.

Best know what that is if you're a customer or potential one. Whatever, you should know what it is and agree to it.

Also... with "no commission" a lure for the unsuspecting... you should know who the FCM is for custody of your funds.

Last edited: Aug 24, 2018
    777 likes this.
  6. JSOP

JSOP